Yours Alone

I lay
suspended in embryonic comfort
and unseen hands,
sculpted my very being.
This was my introduction, to You.

When daylight flared with the rising sun
it was the way You’d planned it.

All through those
sunshine, bare feet and laughter days,
those tears and tantrums days
You were with me.

When I was surrounded by loving comfort and peace,
nestled in the warmth of a parent’s embrace,
it was the way You’d planned it.

In all those lonely days of hurt and defiance,
silently sullen at school,
and in the magical times of familial comfort
and times of wonder,
yes, I knew You were with me

When Your Spirit filled me as the sun set
it was the way You’d planned it.

And when my world broke down on me,
dissolving in a mist of lies and futile pain,
when I didn’t want You near
– You were too bright, too holy –
Yet You were with me.

When I’d cried myself dry, couldn’t get up off my knees,
this was the way You’d planned it

to draw me back to You.

When it’s dark
and I am cold,
I will look to the Cross and know
that You gave up everything for me,
though You did not have to.

When the warm sun lingers in the west
kissing my face, and I hear the laughter
of family and friends,
I’ll look again to the Cross, and know
that all I am and have
is Yours alone.

I am Yours alone;
this is the way You planned it.

Leave a Reply

